Healthy and Simple Cottage Cheese Cheesecake

I was quite happy with my peanut butter cheesecake the other day and found myself making another large batch of cottage cheese with an entire litre of low fat milk. (I promise to upload the recipe for DIY Cottage Cheese soon!) This time I wanted to try making healthy cottage cheesecake on its own (without the peanut butter or other flavours masking the cheesy flavour). I searched for a recipe online for a long, long time, as I couldn’t find one that used only the few measly ingredients I had lying around at home. So, as usual, I decided to combine and tweak a couple of recipes to make use of what I had.

Healthy and Simple Cottage Cheese Cheesecake

hcc1
Whoops, only remembered to snap a photo after gobbling down half of the cheesecake :-p

Ingredients:

  • 225g (1 cup) cottage cheese
  • 60g (1/4 cup) low fat yogurt (Any plain yogurt should work fine, many recipes call for Greek yogurt.)
  • 1 egg
  • 2.5 tablespoons Glucolin (similar to icing sugar. Normal sugar works fine.)
  • 1.5 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon/lime juice
  • Optional topping suggestions: jam (I used cherry jam), yogurt with granola and fruits, etc. (Get creative!)

Instructions:

  1. Blend cottage cheese and yogurt until smooth. (Ensure there are no lumps!)
  2. Blend/mix in egg, Glucolin, flour, vanilla extract and lemon/lime juice until well mixed.
  3. Pour mixture into baking tray and bake at 175 degrees Celsius (350 degrees Fahrenheit) for about 30 minutes, or until the top peels away from the sides of the tray.
  4. Leave to cool/chill in refrigerator for several hours or overnight.  Add desired toppings (optional).

 

hcc2
This is what it looks like straight after baking, topping-free

This cheesecake is super healthy and super easy to bake. Plus it only requires very few ingredients!

As mentioned in my previous post, cottage cheese is SUPER healthy – I think it’s the healthiest cheese there is out there. It is very high in protein, yet low in carbs and fats. No longer do you have to feel guilty/run for hours on the treadmill after indulging in your cheesecake cravings!

If you don’t really enjoy the strong taste of cottage cheese (or cheese in general), you can try my Peanut Butter Cheesecake recipe, as the delicious aroma of peanut butter does a pretty decent job and masking the strong cheesy taste. Or, you can also just add more toppings of your choice (as I did with my cherry jam as the cheesy taste can get a little strong after gobbling up A LOT at one go, and also because the rest of my family aren’t as fond of cheese as I am.)

This cheesecake only takes ten minutes to prepare, so please do go ahead and try it out, and tell me what you thought of it, or what creatively delicious toppings you added on top, below in the comments section! Have fun baking (and eating guiltless-ly!)

pusheen lets bake gif

 

a8eb7-lotsoflove2bcocoabeans2bpng

Leave a Reply

