Creamy Peanut Butter Cheesecake

This recipe is a mashup of many others I found online, and uses the same base as my previous recipe: Luscious Chocolate Tofu Mousse Pie. I have been experimenting in making my own cottage cheese (will write a post about it soon – it’s unbelievably easy to do!), and have been wondering what I should do with my homemade cheese.

Before that, I should explain on the goodness of cottage cheese. According to Organic Facts, the health benefits of cottage cheese include weight loss, a good supply of protein, B complex vitamins and healthy fats, and a reduced risk of breast cancer. Cottage cheese is also a good source of various minerals such as calcium, magnesium, potassium, phosphorous, zinc, and selenium which all play vital roles in many of the body functions. It is a fresh cheese with high water content (meaning it won’t melt easily), and has a light and mild taste.

I have been craving cheesecake for a few months now, but haven’t had the chance to eat it. Looking at the fresh batch of cottage cheese I got from simply adding an acid to heated milk, I wondered if I could make a healthy cheesecake out of it. I had almost zero ingredients at home, not even milk or butter, and I didn’t want to use white sugar or any other guilt-inducing ingredients. I also wanted to have it quickly, and cold, since the weather here is getting unbearably hot. I searched on the internet, but most recipes required baking, or the ingredients I didn’t have. Thus I decided to create one myself, and the results were pretty good! YUM!

006

Creamy Butter Cheesecake Recipe

This is a no-bake, low-carb, super quick and easy recipe! Sure to satisfy your cravings in a jifty 🙂

pbccspoon
A mouth-watering scoop of homemade, creamy peanut butter cheesecake – DELICIOUS!

Ingredients: (serves 10)

Crust (Same as the one for Luscious Chocolate Tofu Mousse Pie):

  • 1 cup (140g) almonds
  • 140g almonds (I used Camel Natural Almonds, Baked. Other nuts like pecans, walnuts and cashews should work as well, and you can even use a mixture!)
  • Sticky sweetener (I used about 5 tablespoons of honey, but tastespace’s recipe uses 175g date sugar, which is probably healthier, but I didn’t have any, unfortunately.)
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt, or to taste (I used Himalayan pink salt)

Filling:

  • 1/6 cup (200g/10 tbsp) peanut butter (I used the all-natural kind, like those with only peanuts and salt)
  • 1 and 1/3 cup (300g) cottage cheese
  • 10 tbsp (75g) Glucolin (Similar to icing sugar)

Directions:

  1. Pound nuts and salt in a blender/food processor. I preferred to have some chunks of nuts left for a crunchier base, but process according to your liking! (If you are using dried dates as your sweetener, add that in too!)
  2. In a bowl, mix in your choice of sticky sweetener with a spoon until the ground nuts can hold themselves together. Scoop onto your cake tray and flatten to create am even base.
  3. Place peanut butter, cottage cheese and Glucolin in a blender/food processor and blend for about 2-3 minutes, or until the cotttage cheese reaches an airy, mousse-like consistency.
  4. Scoop out and spread the cheesecake mousse over the base. Chill in the fridge for about an hour, or until the mousse is firm, before serving. Enjoy! 😀

Note: Peanut butter can be subbed with twice the amount (ie. 1/3 cup) of peanut flour, and cottage cheese can be subbed for an equal amount of Greek yogurt. Greek yogurt can be mixed with a hand-held electric mixer on high speed for about 2 minutes to achieve the same consistency. Also, crushed graham biscuits can be used to substitute as a more conventional base.

The resultant peanut butter cheesecake is really creamy, yet deliciously crunchy at the same time because of the almond base. Like my other recipes, this one is also very versatile, in the sense that you can turn to other nut butters, nut flours and yogurt to substitute the ingredients according to your preference. Cooking and baking is almost an art, there are techniques and rules one should follow, but you must add in your own touch to make it uniquely yours, don’t you think? 😉

pusheen lets bake gif

Do try out this super easy recipe, it won’t take more than 15 minutes! Then sit back and indulge in your healthy, homemade, super yummy cheesecake! Do comment below what you thought of it, and how you made it uniquely yours!

 

a8eb7-lotsoflove2bcocoabeans2bpng

One thought on “Creamy Peanut Butter Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

