Luscious Chocolate Tofu Mousse Pie

I got this recipe from tastespace, and modified it to make do with whatever ingredients I could find lying around. Mainly, I made this to try out my new food processor (WEW!), and also because I love chocolate, but feel guilty every time I ate chocolate desserts outside due to the high empty calorie count of desserts in general.

First off, let me tell you, I am a rather spontaneous cook, in the sense that I go along with my intuition rather than sticking to the recipe. After all, that’s what makes the food one whips up unique, right? However, this sometimes spells disaster, especially because I haven’t developed the habit of tasting my food while cooking. I tend to add in whatever I feel should go well together in whatever amount I feel is right, then hope for the best.

More often than not, this has resulted in me having to frantically make amendments and try to salvage my creation, and that was exactly what happened when I tried making this no-bake mousse pie. However, thank God it turned out fine in the end, and I have a yummy dessert to present to my family after dinner later 🙂

Before I continue to ramble on, let me give you the recipe:

Luscious Chocolate Tofu Mousse Pie

dsc_6767
Photo credits: tastespace. My version is the tiny slice I taste-tested, on top 😉

Ingredients:

Chocolate Mousse:
  • 300g silken tofu (I used Unicurd Silken Tofu)
  • 100g chocolate (I used Lindt Hello Cookies and Cream simply because it was lying around in the house, but I find that it was too sweet. Tastespace suggests dark chocolate, but in my opinion, you can use whatever chocolate you like as long as it does not contain hard, un-meltable ingredients like nuts and raisins. Baking chocolate bars/chips should work fine.)
  • 7 tablespoons pure cocoa powder (Adjust to taste, based on how intense you like your chocolate mousse to be)
  • Sweetener, add to taste(I used brown sugar, but honey, maple syrup, agave syrup, stevia, etc. should work fine!)
  • 1 tablespoon milk (Dairy or non-dairy milk works, depending on your preference. I used Meiji Low Fat Fresh Milk, and added more than I should have, making the filling more watery than it should be.)
  • 1 pinch of salt, optional (I used Himalayan pink salt)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla essence
Base
  • 140g almonds (I used Camel Natural Almonds, Baked. Other nuts like pecans, walnuts and cashews should work as well, and you can even use a mixture!)
  • Sticky sweetener (I used about 5 tablespoons of honey, but tastespace’s recipe uses 175g date sugar, which is probably healthier, but I didn’t have any, unfortunately.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used Himalayan pink salt)

Directions:

  1. Pound nuts and salt in a blender/food processor. I preferred to have some chunks of nuts left for a crunchier base, but process according to your liking! (If you are using dried dates as your sweetener, add that in too!)
  2. In a bowl, mix in your choice of sticky sweetener with a spoon until the ground nuts can hold themselves together. Scoop onto your pie tray and flatten to create am even base.
  3. Melt the chocolate. (I microwaved them at low heat. Be careful not to burn them, as I did, whoopsies.)
  4. Add tofu, melted chocolate, cocoa powder, milk, vanilla essence, sweetener and salt into the blender. Blend until smooth.
  5. Scoop the chocolate mousse onto the pie base and spread evenly.
  6. Chill in the fridge for at least an hour, or until firm. (I left it overnight, found that it was still watery, popped it in the freezer then defrosted it back in the fridge about an hour before serving.)

Serves 10.

If you followed what I did exactly, you would end up with a delicious, creamy, chocolate ice-cream pie. I think the ice-cream texture was there because I popped it in the freezer, to make up for the watery-ness that came with adding too much milk accidentally. If you prefer mousse to ice-cream, please follow tastespace’s version of chilling it in the fridge only.

As proven, this recipe is very versatile and can change according to what ingredients you have at hand and your taste preferences. According to tastespace, the pie is only 256 calories in total, for 10 servings. (But my version is probably less guilt-free because I used more sweetener and sweet milk chocolate :-/ ) I can only say that this is a chocolate-and-nut-lover’s dream-come-true beatingheart1

Please try out this wonderful recipe and tell me what you thought of it. I promise, you won’t regret it!

Happy (no-) baking!

 

a8eb7-lotsoflove2bcocoabeans2bpng

 

3 thoughts on “Luscious Chocolate Tofu Mousse Pie

Leave a Reply

